Day 21 – Tour de Flip Flop Stage 14 Kampon Cham to Phnom Penh, Cambodia AKA Two Flat Tuesday

Distance today 111 km

Tour distance to date 1,741 km

Elevation today (an irrelevant) 89 metres

Elevation to date 8,933 metres (Everest is 8,848)

We arrived in the Cambodian capital, Phnom Penh today, on what is now officially known as Two Flat Tuesday. We rode along the Mekong most of the day but knew we were getting close to the city when we started seeing planes on descent. I don’t think I have seen a plane in the air since almost 3 weeks ago in Hanoi.

For the first day in a few days, I rode with the group that I rode with in Vietnam, rather than go solo. About 7km into the ride I had my first flat. The usual tire inspection to find the cause revealed no obvious tire penetrations. Not finding the cause is usually a cause for concern – and yes it was. Fresh tube and about a kilometre later, another flat. And those that know me, know how much I hate people having to wait on me (almost as much as having to wait on people …), especially as I was just back into the group. Some additional diligence on the second flat and we found a large glass piece hiding in the file treads of the tire that we were not able to see or feel on the inside of the tire.

Problem solved and the rest of the ride was fine. As part of this experience we had the opportunity (glass half full) to experiment with 3 to 4 pumps and one seriously inadequate CO2 system.

Fortunately I had the right tools to aid in the tire change thanks to Intelliware.

My handy Intelliware tire levers

I’m not superstitious but maybe I should be after last night telling some of the riders going on to Singapore that when I leave in Bangkok they could have my extra tubes …

After this was all over, Jim, a family physician from Oregon in my riding group referred to the situation as a “Silicosis leading to severe pneumatic insufficiency”.

Our final part of the route today was a ferry ride across the Mekong River to downtown Phnom Penh. We passed the spot where the Tonle Sap River meets the Mekong River. Very interesting that the Tonle Sap River which connects upriver to Lake Tonle Sap changes flow direction depending on the season.

Tonle Sap River in left meets the Mekong River right
Inside the ferry ride

On rest days and the nights prior we are on our own for meals. A bunch of us found a great Australian steak place and went full western food with burgers and Tomahawk steaks. Washed down with Australian Shiraz. A real treat.

A few others shared a Tomahawk.
My Aussie “The Works” burger with fried egg on top. Only thing missing was the sliced beet root.

That fuel and tomorrow’s rest will be necessary as we have 2 days of long rides, 166km and 155km, after the rest day here.

Here is today’s picture collage here.

2 thoughts on “Day 21 – Tour de Flip Flop Stage 14 Kampon Cham to Phnom Penh, Cambodia AKA Two Flat Tuesday

  1. Check out that tomahawk!! Crazy.
    Beet root would have made it w Kiwi burger.;)

    I love how happy you look in your photos. Looks like such an amazing trip.

    Like

  2. Absolutely amazing adventure Greg. Remarkable!! Can’t wait to hear ALL the detail over a few Starbuck coffees when you get home. Ride and be safe my friend.

    Like

Leave a comment